1             Introduction

Back in the limelight! Not only a new tour, two TV appearances and two TV interviews! A lengthy major radio interview. A lot of studio time and several new songs. Record releases included yet another single from Infidels and a live album from the English and Irish dates of the European Tour, Real Live.


2             1984 At A Glance




3             The 1984 Calendar


Mart Perry and Alan Ramey interview Dylan. One minute from this interview is later included in the program ”John Hammond: From Bessie Smith to Bruce Springsteen”, released on commercial video in 1990.

28 February

Dylan presents a Grammy Award together with Stevie Wonder at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.

22 March

Dylan appears with a new band called The Plugz at the TV show Late Night With David Letterman.

Late March

Filming of the Jokerman video.


Dylan is interviewed by Rolling Stone's Kurt Loder.


The Jokerman/Isis single is released. The B-side is the Renaldo And Clara version from Montreal 4 December 1975, later also released on Biograph and The Bootleg Series volume 5.


Rehearsals at Dylan's home in Malibu for the upcoming tour in Europe. Several line-ups are tried with Chalo Quintana, Ian Wallace as drummers, Tony Marsico and Greg Eyrich as bass players, Nicky Hopkins, Benmont Tench on keyboards.

Rehearsals continue in late May at the Beverly Theater in Los Angeles with the final band (see below).

28 May

The first show in two and half years in Verona, Italy starts up the European tour. Two songs from Infidels, I And I and Man Of Peace. make their live debuts.

29 May

Press conference at Villa Cortine in Sirmione, Italy. A list of songs to be performed during the tour is handed out and contains three new songs, Dirty Lies, Angel Of Rain and Enough Is Enough. Only the last one is actually played during the tour.

31 May

Second and last press conference held in the Club-Haus of the St Pauli Stadium in Hamburg.

17 June

First TV interview in nineteen years is given backstage at the Stade de l'Ouest in Nice. Dylan is interviewed by Antoine de Caunes for the program Antenne II.

27 June

Mick Brown from Times interviews Dylan.

7 July

Martha Quinn from MTV interviews Dylan backstage at Wembley, before the concert.

8 July

European tour ends in Slane, Ireland with a show at the Slane Castle. Derek Bailey interviews Dylan backstage before the concert for a documentary on the Clancy Brothers.


The Irish music paper Hot Press arranges an interview by Bono Vox of U2 fame, or rather a conversation between Bono and Dylan.

26 July

Recording sessions for Empire Burlesque starts at the Delta Sounds Studios in New York City, New York. A take of Clean-Cut Kid makes the final album.

30 July

Bert Kleinman interviews Dylan at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in New York City, New York. Parts are released on the promotional disc Dylan On Dylan, 17 November 1984.


Lone Justice recording session at The Power Station in New York in New York City. Go Away Little Boy from these sessions is released 1985 as a single B-side in Europe and later in 1999 on the Lone Justice collection This World Is Not My Home.


During a recording session at Oceanway Studios in Los Angeles, California a number of covers are tried, among them In The Summertime by Ray Dorset and Help Me Make It Through The Night by Kris Kristofferson.

3 December

Release of Real Live.


Work on the next album is resumed with number of recording sessions in the Cherokee Studio in Los Angeles. These sessions yield two results, the base track for Brownsville Girl, eventually released on Knocked Out Loaded, and the base track for Something's Burning, Baby.




4             Real Live

This live album consists of recordings from the last three concerts of the 1984 Tour of Europe:

Newcastle, England 5 July, London, England 7 July and Slane, Ireland 8 July as follows:






Highway 61 Revisited




Maggie's Farm




I And I




License To Kill




It Ain't Me Babe




Tangled Up In Blue




Masters Of War




Ballad Of A Thin Man




Girl From The North Country




Tombstone Blues